Tag Archives: Year in Review

52 Weeks That Were

By | December 31, 2017
Steampunk Disney Dragon

Another year, another epic dragon sighting!

2017 was an odd year that started out with two deaths (one friend and one pet) and never really recovered. There were some high points scattered in among the low, but as a whole I am very very glad to see the end of it.

I felt like I was constantly starting over as the months rolled by and while I did get some wins in, for the most part this year was just a holding pattern. I’m all revved up to get started with next year and hopefully get some traction. There’s so much I’d like to do that it seems almost impossible right now.

But teaspoons still move mountains and I just need to focus on putting on foot in front of the other! 🙂

2017 Highlights Reel (tl;dr)

  • Said goodbye to Rocco and Egg.
  • Visited Katuson, Disney, and Maine.
  • Said hello to Sir Buckethead the Gallant.

Continue reading

Once More, With Feeling!

By | December 31, 2016
Hello 2017, Good Riddance 2016!

Hello 2017, Good Riddance 2016!

2016 has been a weird sort of year. On the one hand, nothing much has happened in my small portion of the universe, but looking outside that bubble you can see the hurricane of events. There’s some breaks in the clouds, but there was a lot of darkness invading the lives of folks I love and it’s not a fun sight.

Thankfully this post is focusing on my bubble, even if it seems very small and very unimportant in the face of the storm. *rolls up sleeves*

I actually thought I wasn’t going to have anything for these lists at first look, but after a trip down memory lane with the Archives and Google Photos… and I did a lot more than I thought. So welcome to my little corner of sunshine! 🙂

(Actually I’m pretty sure no one reads these posts but me, but I love looking back on them over the years!)

2016 Highlights Reel

  • I wrote stories, made art, hung out with friends and family, and tried to bring a little Assassin’ing into my life.

Continue reading

Twelve Months and a Dragon

By | December 31, 2015
Dragon on Gingotts Bank

Life needs MOAR DRAGONS!

This has been a year, omg.

I had good intentions, I did, but things got so crazy so quickly that I just lost track of everything beyond ‘get up, go to work, come home, sleep’. I was so far into the tunnel vision that I thought I hadn’t accomplished much this year until I started making the list.

Part of that was because I didn’t accomplish a single thing on my Twelve Things list of resolutions. I did attempt several of them, so I’m giving myself partial credit!

2015 Highlights Reel

  • Moved into a new awesome house of awesomeness!
  • Had to say goodbye to my beloved Ginger (HoundDoggie)
  • Got a new cat (of Undetermined Name)
  • Went to Harry Potter Land for my birthday
  • Found a forever home for a giant black German Shepherd foster dog

Continue reading

The Year That Was (So Long 2014!)

By | January 2, 2015
Live from the Workbench 11-15-2014

Too many hobbies, too little desk!

It’s been a long chaotic year, filled with twists and turns and a lot of ‘getting stuck in ruts’ that leave me feeling less accomplished than I normally do in these reviews.

Looking back, I never set any solid goals for this year, which may have been the problem. I’m itching to start off the new year with something a bit more coherent, so expect that post in the days to come…

But as always, I’m stubbornly determined to only focus on the good things from last year, so onwards!

Continue reading

They Shouted, Reveling

By | December 31, 2013
Dec 2013 - Jan 2014 Hardcopy to Google Calendar

Dec 2013 – Jan 2014 Hardcopy to Google Calendar

Title is from the poem The Shortest Day which is one of my favorite things from the Christmas Revels performances. (We’ll ignore the fact that the solstice was on the 21, not the 31.)

2013 has wound to a close and while I may not have checked much off my list, I had a blast trying. In fact I’m looking to recycle a lot of the 2013 resolutions, as well as some of the 2012 and 2011’s… 2014 will be the Year of the Mulligan! 😉

But 2013 was a lot of fun, so onwards to the review! Continue reading

Hyvästi 2012!

By | December 31, 2012
2012 2013 Calendar Change

So long horses, hello LOLcats!

2012 was a year of lots of changes. Lots of changes. *sighs*

Some good, some bad, and some that are still waiting on the new year for news (possible IT job, woot!). Unlike 2011 and it’s 335ish Resolutions, 2012 had a less impressive list but it’s time to check things off…

…and amusingly, I didn’t manage to get any of them done! 😉

But why don’t I mind? Because I came pretty darned close in places and a I got a whole lot more done that wasn’t on the lists than I had expected to.

Onwards! Continue reading

All These Molehills

By | January 10, 2012
Garbage Day, My Nemesis!

Garbage Day, My Nemesis!

View From The Molehill is an odd category and I was waffling over whether to post a yearly sum-up for it. Other than the book reviews (which lasted two library runs) and setting up the treadmill computer, it’s mostly ramblings on how being an adult is Hardâ„¢.

First World Problems, I can haz. *sighs*

But I figured it couldn’t hurt and it will be a nice measuring stick for next year’s round-up. Plus I had some good ideas last year, even if I didn’t quite get around to implementing them—and it can’t hurt to give it another go! Continue reading

Herds and Herds of Horses

By | January 6, 2012
Ye Olde Shoebox of Wonder

Ye Olde Shoebox of Wonder

Last year was an interesting year in terms of horses.

I finished two customs (Elmhurst and Gesundheit), started a few others, and basically spent the year uploading horses that I had painted in 2005 and earlier.

So there were a LOT of horses, some backdated to 2010 and thus not appearing in the list, but not a lot of new stuff. You can see the non-model posts in green below, which are pretty darned scarce.

Still, it was a fun year and having the horses to fill in the posting gaps allowed me to have something posted every single day of the year—not bad eh? *grin* It remains to be seen if I can pull that off without the horses this year… Continue reading

Looking Back at 2011’s Grand Plansâ„¢

By | January 5, 2012
A Year in Review

Learning From My Mistakes

This is the smallest of the yearly updates, but probably the most impactful in terms of what’s planned for 2012.

Sure, the three NaNo’s, fifty-two horses, and 366 miles aren’t to be sneezed at, but starting the small business again will make a much larger (and longer lasting) impact on my day-to-day life.

This year there will be more informational posts, based on my own learning curve. I’ll be covering things as I hit them, but I’ll also be revisiting topics as I learn more or change my stance. Businesses are meant to be fluid things and buyers are a fickle breed! Continue reading

Where Will You Be in 52 Weeks?

By | January 5, 2012

I’m a casual gamer and an altoholic, which is probably why I only wrote 39 posts last year and a good portion of them are me rambling about meaning to play more.

But as the year draws to a close I can’t say that I’m horribly disappointed—I got a lot done this year that I hadn’t intended to.

  • The treadmill computer was a random spark of an idea in July that’s finally starting to pay off.
  • Blog Azeroth has been a blast and I’ve found a lot of blogs I now follow because of it.
  • Because of National Novel Wiriting Month I now have two WoW buddies with whom I hope to spend casual weekends playing Pretendy Fun-time Games.

Not bad for 52 weeks of casual play– now I’m wondering where I’ll be if I put some real effort into it for 2013! Continue reading